Eric Shepherd: Murder in a Nunnery

This gallery contains 1 photo.

‘When Inez first came to us she would have thought no more of stabbing than of washing her face. In fact she would have thought considerably less.’

Gallery | Tagged , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

What’s happened to Sid from Father Brown?

This gallery contains 1 photo.

To satisfy my visitors searching for news of Sid, Lady Felicia’s chauffeur from Father Brown, I used my best magic spells and located his current location: starring as the grown-up Draco Malfoy in Harry Potter and the Cursed Child at the … Continue reading

Gallery | 6 Comments

Ethel Lina White: While She Sleeps

This gallery contains 1 photo.

Miss Loveapple woke with a smile. She had slept well; her digestion was good – her conscience clear; and she had not an enemy in the world. There was nothing to warn her that, within the next hour, she would … Continue reading

Gallery | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

Without a clue…

I’ve just absently deleted a perfectly valid comment about Sherlock on here, and I can’t see how to reinstate it. Blame my phone and clumsy fingers. Didn’t register who wrote it but no offence meant…

Gallery | Tagged | 2 Comments

A Study in Burgundy

This gallery contains 1 photo.

My close Hollywood sources* have told me that there is a new Holmes and Watson on the horizon for the increasing numbers of you implying that Sherlock has gone off the boil (I haven’t even caught up with the first … Continue reading

Gallery | 3 Comments

‘The 60s didn’t really know what to do with hats’: #1960book round up

This gallery contains 19 photos.

Every month at Past Offences we review the crime and mystery oeuvre of a particular year, and in December we were looking at 1960. This month we have a theme tune, Man of Mystery, courtesy of the Shads, to listen … Continue reading

Gallery | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Best Offences: My favourite crime reads of 2016

Well, it’s been a pretty rubbish year, what with the whole geopolitical situation and fewer five-star reads than any year since my records began. Still, there were a few high points and I’dd unreservedly recommend the following titles…

Malice_AforethoughtFrancis Iles: Malice Aforethought

Dr Bickleigh, an unassuming little chap with a distinct inferiority complex, lives in the exclusive hamlet of Wyvern’s Cross with his domineering wife Julia. Julia is one of the Devonshire Crewstantons; Bickleigh the son of a shopkeeper. She rules Bickleigh with a rod of iron. As Malice Aforethought opens, Dr Bickleigh is at a tennis party, deciding to kill Julia.

A love story of sorts, and a fascinating portrayal of misplaced desperation.


Manchurian_CandidateI was not at all expecting The Manchurian Candidate to be the book it is. It’s packaged, in this 2004 movie tie-in edition at least, as a slick-looking starring-Denzel-Washington-and-from-the-director-of-The-Silence-of-the-Lambs techno-thriller – ‘It’s not a nightmare if it’s really happening’.

But what you get is a mix of extended satire on American politics, a bit of a war story and a bit of a love story, and an absurdist black comedy.

One for lovers of Catch-22.

 


Miss_Pym_DisposesJosephine Tey’s Miss Pym Disposes is, I think, her best book. An expert psychologist meets her match in a physical education college. A wonderful cast of characters, an idiosyncratic setting, musings of the value of psychology, a massive moral dilemma…

There is a large cast of characters, which Tey brings to life so effectively that I’d read most of the book before realising that there hadn’t been a crime yet. Just watching the characters interact is a pleasure, and they are a revelation to Miss Pym too.

 


Prelude_to_a_Certain_MidnightGerald Kersh’s Prelude to a Certain Midnight is a like a core sample taken through inter-war Soho. According to the back of my Penguin edition, Gerald Kersh worked as a ‘travelling salesman, all-in-wrestler, night-club proprietor, cinema manager, banker’s assistant, manual labourer, bodyguard, bookmaker’s clerk, debt collector, and barman’. Assuming that’s all true, he presumably saw a lot of London’s demi-monde, and they’re all here: slum-dwellers and aristos slumming it, artists, writers, eccentrics, drinkers and addicts, retired boxers, pork butchers, sado-masochists – and one child murderer.

Stylishly written and powerful.


Red_HarvestI’d tried to read Red Harvest a couple of times previously but given up, but this year I stuck with it and I’m glad I did. It’s eye-openingly violent, unremitting in its vision of corruption, and apparently based on Hammett’s own experiences. The cast of characters displays Hammett’s wonderful gift for names – Elihu Willsson, Yakima Shorty, Reno Starkey, Chief Noonan, Pete the Finn, Whisper Thaler, Dinah Brand. The fight scenes are gritty (and indeed almost Tarantino-esque in their sweep). The prototype hard-boiled hero the Continental Op is a keen observer of human foibles, with a black sense of humour and a truly hard-boiled turn of phrase. Great stuff.


Murder_of_the_MaharajahThe Murder of the Maharajah by H. R. F. Keating is an Indian mystery with only a tenuous link to his famous creation Inspector Ghote.

The action kicks off on April Fool’s Day 1930 at the palace of the Maharajah of Bhopore. An excruciating series of practical jokes culminates in a deeply embarrassing banquet (during which the Maharajah’s A.D.C. is falsely accused of trying to poison him). At a shooting party the next morning, the beautiful scenery is shattered by the Maharajah’s gun exploding, killing him instantly.

A humorous story with a strong setting and a satisfying mystery.


Strangers_on_a_TrainPatricia Highsmith’s Strangers on a Train is one of my favourite thrillers. The set-up is well-known. Two men get talking on a train. One is an up-and-coming architect with a beautiful girlfriend, on his way south to start a prestigious project in Palm Beach. There is only one fly in his ointment – a wife he hates in his home town of Metcalf Texas, and who is pregnant with another man’s child. The other is a wealthy wastrel with an obsessive love of his mother and hatred of his father, ‘the Captain’. If he was out of the way, life would be perfect. Why not swap murders?


I’ve long held that the best books are not necessarily the most memorable. Looking back at 2016, the books I think I’ll remember are:

Rather_a_Vicious_GentlemanRather a Vicious Gentleman presents a sort of scurrilous antihero, a little in the vein of Flashman or Mortdecai, who is an infallible assassin. The humour is fun if a bit clunky, but I thought the book’s reverse structure was clever.

Even more idiosyncratic is Harry Stephen Keeler’s The Shark-skin Book, a roller-coaster ride through a hard-boiled wonderland which makes very little sense but is compelling in its own way.

Happy New Year everyone! Hope you have a good 2017.

Posted in Classic crime round-up, Classic mystery book review, Information Received | Tagged , , , , , , | 16 Comments

1959book sign-up

This gallery contains 1 photo.

Every month on Past Offences I gather together blog posts about crime fiction written or filmed in a particular year. I’ve called it Crimes of the Century. Bernadette of Reactions to Reading and Fair Dinkum Crime chose 1959 for January. … Continue reading

Gallery | Tagged , , | 50 Comments

Father Brown Christmas special 2016: The Star of Jacob

This gallery contains 1 photo.

A slightly late review of the Father Brown Christmas special, which aired this week on BBC1. The episode opens with a visit from Canon Fox with a message from Brown’s boss, Bishop Reynard. The Duke of Frome has announced he will … Continue reading

Gallery | Tagged , , | 5 Comments

BBC’s The Witness for the Prosecution

This gallery contains 3 photos.

The BBC’s flagship Christie adaptation aired last night. They promised us dark and sexy – but did they deliver? We are certainly a long way from Marple. It doesn’t look like an adaptation of a Golden Age story, and, for example, you … Continue reading

Gallery | Tagged , , , , , | 7 Comments