Pick of the month: March 2012

This post is related to Kerrie’s meme at Mysteries in Paradise.

For me, March was a relatively busy reading month dominated by my quest to read the CWA’s top 100 crime novels. Helped by my birthday haul I covered 5 of the list:

Off-topic for this blog, I read The Holy Thief by William Ryan and am halfway through Camilla Lackberg’s The Stranger for Euro Crime. I won’t comment on those here.

The fact that the quality control has already been done makes it very hard to choose a stand-out title, but I am going to plump for Smallbone Deceased, as a) it’s a charming and well-written book, b) it is by a new author to me, and c) it’s very much a mystery novel in the classic sense.

About pastoffences

Past Offences exists to review classic crime and mystery books, with ‘classic’ meaning books originally published before 1987.
This entry was posted in Information Received. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pick of the month: March 2012

  1. Sarah says:

    Sounds good – I hope you enjoy the Lackberg that you are reading. I am yet to read ‘The Holy Thief’. Would you recommend it?

    Like

    • westwoodrich says:

      I’m finding Lackberg likeable but not brilliant. The story is fine but there is a LOT about the characters’ home lives (however there was a discussion about that recently and it might be that I was primed to look out for this). The Holy Thief is a winner though. Interesting setting, believable characters, and not overloaded with research.

      Like

  2. Maxine says:

    I think I liked that Lackberg, assuming it is the one whose title mysteriously changed between pb and hb. Haven’t read The Holy Thief so look fwd to your review. Smallbone Deceased is a good choice.

    Like

  3. Thanks for the tip. Will check out Smallbone. I confess to a fondness for Mary Stewart in high school which led me to one of my faves, Daphne Du Maurier’s Rebecca.

    Like

Make a statement...

