Father Brown series 3 starts on Monday


The third series of the BBC’s Father Brown begins next week in the UK.

All ten episodes are on BBC One in the traditional early-afternoon slot: 2:15. The core cast, led by Mark Williams as Father Brown, remains unchanged.

Only two of the episodes appear to have links to the G. K. Chesterton originals, one of which is The Invisible Man, a story I can’t believe they haven’t approached before. Although I note there are clowns in it.

Expect strawberry scones, a certain amount of theological confusion, 50s nostalgia and the occasional squeal of anguish from G. K. Chesterton purists…

Week one (5th January – 9th January)

1. The Man in the Shadows
Father Brown gets involved with MI5, which puts Lady Felicia in a compromising position.

2. The Curse of Amenhotep
After Sir Raleigh’s new bride insists on seeing his Egyptian mummy, she is found dead.

3. The Invisible Man
The circus brings death to Kembleford when a clown is murdered.

4. The Sign of the Broken Sword
Father Brown investigates a murder at the local army barracks.

5. The Last Man
Father Brown investigates when Kembleford’s new cricket captain is framed for murder.

Week two (12th January – 16th January)

6. The Upcott Fraternity
Father Brown witnesses the apparent suicide of a student, but is convinced it is murder.

7. The Kembleford Boggart
Father Brown must act fast to save a member of Kembleford’s travelling community.

8. The Lair of the Libertines
Father Brown and his friends find themselves stranded at a hotel with a group of hedonists

9. The Truth in the Wine
When a body is discovered in a vineyard, Father Brown must search for the murderer.

10. The Judgement of Man
Father Brown becomes embroiled in an audacious art heist masterminded by Flambeau.


About pastoffences

Past Offences exists to review classic crime and mystery books, with ‘classic’ meaning books originally published before 1987.
This entry was posted in Classic mystery book review, Cozy mystery book, Father Brown, Information Received, TV and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Father Brown series 3 starts on Monday

  1. Well, i remain fairly unconvinced (well, as an aadaptation it’s pretty laughable, but it is only a question f whether it works on its own terms after all) but I know my sister-in-law will lap it up (and she’s a woman of great taste and a razor-sharp brain when it comes to puzzles) – I thought it was 15 episodes for this series?


  2. Santosh Iyer says:

    “Only two of the episodes appear to have links to the G. K. Chesterton originals, one of which is The Invisible Man”
    The other one is The Sign Of The Broken Sword. The basic ideas of these 2 stories appear in a famous novel by Agatha Christie.
    I enjoyed the first 2 series.


  3. sjhigbee says:

    I completely missed the first series – but this sounds right up my street. I LOVED the books when I was a young woman, so will give it a go. Many thanks for giving it a shoutout and a very Happy New Year to you!


  4. Rachel Flowerday says:

    FYI, Rich, Cavershamragu is correct – this series is 15 eps – not clear why the BBC website isn’t saying that yet. They will TX across three consecutive weeks from tomorrow.


  5. Lilibet says:

    Father Brown Series 1 & 2 seemed more compassionate, humorous, subtle and complex than the rest. Series 3 was embarrassing with Lady Felicia turned into a two-dimensional tart, the characters having become cardboard cutouts of their former selves. Dumbed down, in fact. Then political correctness took over the story lines. Do TV producers really think this is an improvement? That this is what we want?


Make a statement...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s