What’s happened to Sid from Father Brown?

To satisfy my visitors searching for news of Sid, Lady Felicia’s chauffeur from Father Brown, I used my best magic spells and located his current location: starring as the grown-up Draco Malfoy in Harry Potter and the Cursed Child at the Palace Theatre in London.

And here he is…

About pastoffences

Past Offences exists to review classic crime and mystery books, with ‘classic’ meaning books originally published before 1987.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Father Brown, Information Received. Bookmark the permalink.

72 Responses to What’s happened to Sid from Father Brown?

  1. I. CASSER says:

    Thanks

    Like

  2. This is great news, thanks for this, I wondered what he was up to. He definitely deserves this role too, he was of the only redeeming features of the Father Brown BBC series!

    Like

    • Martine says:

      I love Father Brown. Its a really great show, that doesn’t have all the nastiness al other shows out there. i actually enjoy watching it. But Bunty is ruining it. I never liked Sin, and in fact, most people I know who watch Father Brown never liked him, But Lady Felicia was wonderful. Its not a show aimed at young boys, so I don’t see how a typical snarky, big breasted chic is going to help. I still love the show, even with the annoying Bunty.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. piningforthewest says:

    Sid is back, as of yesterday’s episode.

    Like

    • pastoffences says:

      Can’t keep a good chauffeur down!

      Like

      • Milena Brown says:

        Finally the 2017 episodes are being shown but what a disappointment not having Sid and Lady Felicia – changes the show and not for the better. I loved the whole cast of Father Brown and the stories (not so much for the Inspector) and hope the producers hear the voices of the people asking for the original cast. Why change a perfect ensemble of actors who make the characters they portray so affable.

        Like

  4. jenny says:

    What has happend to father brown I have always loved watching the program but this new series has gone very smutty alot of women walking about in there underwear etc
    A new detective who is the worst actor ever and a young women who is so annoying please bring back lady felisia and sid and make it more about the village again instead of seedy goings on

    Liked by 1 person

    • Martine says:

      Exactly. I loved it. It kept on getting better and better up until Lady Felicia left, and Bunty showed up, and the tone became different Everything that made father Brown different then the other shows is being stripped away. The majority of the audience is fairly conservative, and doesn’t want to see sexed up women, or even have moral lessons about how we should all be liberal. Go back to just being an enjoyable mystery series, and don’t try to shock us.

      Liked by 1 person

      • anne says:

        I totally agree with you. Bring back Nancy Carroll and get rid of Bunty. Many of my friends in the US are upset that Carroll is not on—and I hope Alex Price is going to stay on–he wasn’t on the Father Brown show that I just watched. Please don’t break up a good acting team.

        Like

      • Dana Marie hardin says:

        This fan in Louisville, Kentucky completely agrees!

        Like

      • Sara Rosenthal says:

        I totally agree, my husband and I watched it the other night and DID NOT like the new cast, especially that new girl, annoying voice and actions. We don’t need sexed up women or even moral lessons, Father Brown was a pleasant show without all that bull, the liberals are trying to throw at us. Go BACK to the great enjoyable mystery series you were. PLEASE. Loved Lady Felicia scream and character as well as Sid who was a delight.

        Like

    • Sue Schneider says:

      I totally agree. I really got a kick out of Sid and his antics. The detectives are not my favorite, they are so mean.

      Like

  5. I never was a Sid fan, but I do like Alex Price – he comes across like such a nice person when he is not acting! He suits the role of grown-up Draco Malfoy, I think. Now that you’ve got me started, I’ll have to look up the rest of the cast of this play.

    The new Father Brown has not yet made it to German TV.

    Like

  6. Michael Dorman says:

    I love Sid and Lady Felicia as part of the cast of characters I got to love. I hate it when casts change in a series I love. I know they often have other movie, theatre and tv commitments but as a selfish fan I like my cast to never change.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Scumspawn says:

      I’m like that too..you learn to adapt but you always think it was better with the original cast ..well at least Mark Williams and Sorcha Cussack are still there..is the inspector meant to be that crass I keep thinking of a rat crossed with a weasel when I see Jack Neams portrayal.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Richard says:

        Jack Neams character makes me think of an inept or even a crooked cop. Who was sent there either to get rid of him or to redeem his ways.

        Like

      • anne says:

        I agree about Deams. I liked the inspector so much when he was played by Tom Chambers.

        Like

    • Anonymous says:

      Agree completely, can no longer watch an entire show till compleation.
      What’s happened to The Father Brown show, it has not been the same since two cast members left…on the verge of aweful! Especially the Inspector, what a dud! Too over the top…

      Like

      • Dana Marie hardin says:

        I may have missed it…but I did not see an explanation for Tom Chambers’ exit from the show. This new inspector is obnoxious, mean, rude and stupid. Writers … WHAT ARE YOU THINKING?!? You’re fans are very disappointed 😦

        Like

  7. Richard says:

    My wife and I love Sid and he brings a lot to the series. He’s the yang to Father Brown’s yang. Sort of his alter ego lets say. Hope he’s back soon as it seems to take quite a while to get new episodes on BBC Canada.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Trish says:

    Please get rid of the new Inspector, played by a terrible actor. Ruins it. Don’t think the storylines are so good in the new series but still watchable. Miss Sid & Lady Felicia but grown to like
    Bunty

    Like

  9. Mrs E Brown says:

    When is it back on to?

    Like

  10. Maree Green says:

    I love this show and especially Sid.

    Like

  11. ImNoDhimmi says:

    Bring back Sid and Lady Felicia!

    Like

  12. Doreen Nisbet says:

    I think that series five is the end of Father Brown and it has been such an enjoyable show. However this last series has changed and the story lines have become rather American. I still scan the TV guide looking for reruns. Being Canadian means I am bombarded with American trash.

    Like

  13. mickey says:

    Bring Aid back

    Like

  14. Antonia Ellinas says:

    I really love the show but I miss Sid and Lady Felicia, It is just not the same without them so I guess I will have to settle for enjoying the old episodes. The new ones are just so much like any other junk on TV

    Like

  15. Kay Knaup says:

    Good for Alex Price that he is doing well, but I miss his character, Sid, on Father Brown. One of my favorite tv shows.

    Like

  16. deleted says:

    The 2017 version of Father Brown is greatly disappointing. The script writing has diminished as well as the characters. Lady Felicia and Sid were ideal actors for this show…too bad they are no longer featured.
    The Inspector, omg way too over the top, for this show, time for him to be replaced by someone more ” charming “.
    Hopefully Father Brown will regain its great writing and story lines once again with the former cast.
    It was a real pleasure to watch, even the reruns…not sure what end happened to a fine show on BBC.

    Patricia G.

    Like

  17. Tom Shekita says:

    I, too miss Sid and Lady Felicia. Please bring them back.

    Like

  18. Anonymous says:

    Miss Did! Happy he has a role in the HP movie! Will LF be back?

    Like

  19. Anonymous says:

    The new inspector is awful. Why are they all so bumbling? Bunny is fine but I want lady Felicia back.

    Like

  20. Linda Bezec says:

    Bring back Sid and Felicia. Shoe is not the same without them.

    Like

  21. Muriel Moorhead says:

    Please return Nancy Carroll and Alex Price to Father Brown. This show is not the same without them. The dynamic has changed. They are both a very important part of this show.
    How could you do this!!!

    Like

  22. Frances Mirra says:

    Bring back Side a d Lady Felicia. Also, Det. Sullivan was so much more interesting h!!!!

    Like

    • Patricia Singer says:

      OMG… What a major error on the part of the writers/ producers to take Sid and Lady
      felicia’s characters out of the show. Bunty is crass , annoying and completely discordant with the tone and quality of the show previously. Same issues with the current police officer. Why oh Why. ?????????????

      Like

  23. Madrina says:

    It’s still better than all these shows that are horrifically filled with violence, sex and lack of empathy for a fellow human being. I do agree Nancy Carroll, Alex Price should return but let’s be fair with the actress/character Bunty. I interested in the mystery of what has happened to Miss Fisher Mysteries

    Like

    • Daniela says:

      Unfortunately, that is exactly what Father Brown has become! I was mortified by the episode 5, the first one of season 5 that I saw. You described that episode in your first sentence, point for point. Just awful! They not only need to bring back Lady Felicia, Sid, and the Inspector but also the old writers and directors or scrap the whole series all together.

      Like

  24. Ellen says:

    I’d like the original chachters back too. But really folks due a little proof reading before posting

    Like

  25. Mary Lydon says:

    I just watched Episode 2 of season 5 and I am so disappointed that Lady Felicia is leaving.I truly enjoyed her relationship with Mrs. McCarthy and the real friendship they shared but often tried to hide..they were the heart of the series along with Fr Brown..they were a real team and kept a warmth to the story as well as helping Fr Brown solve mysteries..please bring her back !!!

    Like

  26. Georgia says:

    Absolutely love Father Brown. Bunty is ok, but prefer Sid & Lady Felicia. Why did
    Two great characters leave show? Also, news inspector does not mesh well with the rest
    If characters. Bring back Sid & Felicia!!

    Like

  27. JE Dailey says:

    I so agree with statements above; the original dynamics of the show has seriously deteriorated without the complete cast of Sid and Lady Felicia. It was a fine chemistry and compliment of personalities and friendship. Show is going in wrong direction, downward, not just changing and moving forward.

    Like

  28. Anonymous says:

    I miss sid most. I love lady Felicia but I also like Bunty…a breath if fresh air.

    Like

  29. sharon satterfield says:

    Please for the sake of all that is holy…return to the roots of the show…bring Sid and Lady Felicia back….is it money….pay them… it would be the very best investment for the series, BBC and the actors that make this such an enjoyable show…dump the new inspector….I am sure he is a good actor just not in this part. Return to the bones of the original story line and this will run forever and the fan base will increase two-fold. We can watch trash tv every day in US this is why we watch more of BBC….but sadly this is going in that direction…please hear the voice of the fans. Sharon Satterfield

    Like

  30. Sherrie says:

    I was disappointed with the series when they dropped Lady Felicia and Sid. The inspector is such a ignoramus and also inept in acting department.

    Like

  31. Sherrie says:

    I was disappointed with the series when they dropped Lady Felicia and Sid. The inspector is such an ignoramus and very inept in the acting department. I truly miss the original cast.

    Like

  32. Anonymous says:

    In what episode was Sid sent to prison? I see that he comes back in episode 11 of season five, but can seem to remember exactly what happened to him previously?

    Like

  33. Beanie says:

    Sincerely hope he returns to Father Brown series!!

    Like

  34. Pingback: Heerlijk! Het vijfde seizoen van Father Brown is vanaf 1 mei te zien op BBC First | Scriptgirl.nl

  35. Anonymous says:

    Miss Sid and Lady Felicia– hate the inspector! The show is not the same.

    Like

  36. So disappointed in cast changes. Losing did and Lady Felicia changes the whole dynamic, not for the better. That annoying girl added to cast is a mistake. I’ve lost interest in the series and it used to be must see.

    Like

  37. Patrick says:

    Not sure why many are not happy with Bunty. I like her enthusiasm. I actually prefer her over Lady Filicia. I also and enjoying the season 5 as much as I enjoy all the series.

    Like

  38. Cieje says:

    I cried when I noticed Side was gone AND no explanation in the story…..

    Like

  39. Cynthia Sirmon says:

    I am a Texan who loves Father Brown!! But really…Sid, and especially Lady Felicia, added greatly to the success of the series. Not terribly interested in watching without them

    Like

  40. Jerry says:

    I am an American viewer and just loved the show up until of course they pulled two of the characters that made the show so enjoyable – Sid and Felicia, who else? Better than writing them out, and technically they never wrote-out Sid, they should have kept Sid and done some magnetism between him and Bunty. I’m sure those two just went to other performances that conflicted with FB.

    Like

  41. Scott says:

    I am a yank living on FL, and am completely enthralled with the Father Brown series on Netflix. I just got to the episode where Lady Felicia left, and Sid not on. I’m officially in mourning! What on earth were the producers thinking of???

    Like

  42. Jackie hall says:

    Please bring back the original caste and story lines. That is what I loved about the show. The caste, the town and the original four. It is not the same great show anymore. What a shame.

    Like

  43. manclad says:

    I loved the show, but I miss Sid and want him to come back after Harry Potter is done . I can’t really watch the show without him. He’s like a mate’s mate: funny, sometimes goofy; but a good bloke to have your back, then grab a pint wit’. Sid brought a really great, masculine-boyish element to the show. Sid needs to come back and find his Nancy…haha. Seems to be a bunch of hens now. Oh, and a daft copper! To anyone that thought his character was a bad element to the show, see my two fingers and bugger-off ( nothing but mammys and nans watching now.. poppycock). And to Alex Price: good luck with your future, and this pints on me mate!!!

    Like

  44. Rkew says:

    Is Sid returning to Father Brown?

    Like

  45. i guess Father Brown is over unless you have him solving mysteries again and saving souls because the last 2 we saw were trashy..miss Lady Felicia and Sid and THE GREAT MYSTERIES. do not appreciate that young woman at all….trashy…we changed our whole schedule to watch Father Brown and now .we dont like it anymore…

    Like

  46. Bonnie says:

    Bring back Lady Felisia and Sid! It took a lot for this Texas girl to get hooked on this show, and then my favorite characters Just disappear, and get replaced with Bunty and this detective that I don’t like at all. What a shame!

    Like

Make a statement...

